Sticks and stones may break my bones

words

“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”………?

Since when has that been true?

Words hold so much power. You can uplift and encourage, or destroy and crush a person, just by a few simple words.

Our choice of words must be chosen with wisdom. Not just the words though, but also the tone. You can say the simplest thing, but if it is said in the wrong tone, it can still damage.

The kids I nanny are always saying rude things to each other. Like, “you’re so fat” “you’re a horrible person” “no one likes you” “you’re ugly”, the list goes on. I’m constantly having to ask them to use kinder words. They usually just laugh and say they’re just kidding. I understand that. I can come across as totally rude sometimes, but it’s in sarcasm, and I’m only that way around certain people. But, even when in jest, hurtful words can still be hurtful.

This picture is a good reminder to be careful and sensitive towards others.

Words which do not give the light of Christ increase the darkness.

~Mother Teresa

2 thoughts on “Sticks and stones may break my bones

Leave a Reply

