New Year! New you!

calvin-and-hobbes

2012 Folks. Crazy, right? I went to a dear friend’s house last night to watch movies and play video games…..or more like watch video games being played. I attempted…..and failed….epically. I’m used to old games, not these newer ones! I sat on the couch yelling at the screen and controller because both refused to do what I wanted ;P ! Silly, stupid little things.

I noticed all the new year resolutions posted all over facebook and twitter. So many resolutions are to change a person completely. Less of this, more of that, lose this, lose that, ect. But, let’s just be honest for a second. Does anyone really ever keep their resolutions? January first parks itself in our path and we’re ready. We go at our goals full force. Nothing can stop us. All we need is a cape to make the image complete. But then, those days turn into weeks and those weeks into months. Life hits and challenges arise. Old habits find themselves back in the equation.

I can’t help but think, what’s the mentality behind the resolutions? Or, deeper still, what’s the mentality behind the things we’re trying to change? Getting to the root of the problem is the only way to solve the problem. There’s a reason we are the way we are. There’s a reason a person never exercises, never loses that extra weight, drinks all the time, rarely goes to church, etc. A person can stop for a time. They can gather every ounce of determination they have, but it will only go so far. It can’t last forever. It’s just a band-aid.

I’m not sure a person can really completely get over an addiction or problem unless they figure out exactly what it is that started it. Once the root is found, one must allow the Lord to heal and mend it. It’s a painful process. Digging out those old, dusty boxes you’ve stored away in your heart and going through them is never easy. But, it’s a process of such tender and overwhelming love from the hand of God. It’s such a beautiful mess of healing and growing.

This year, I don’t have a resolution. Just an anticipation. 2011 was nothing like what I imagined, and I doubt 2012 will be either. I watched the Lord work in so many different ways last year. I grew in so many different areas and experienced Him on a completely new level. Who knows what 2012 will bring! All I know is, God’s got this. I’ll probably learn much more, and hopefully grow more. We’ll see 🙂

Happy 2012!

2 thoughts on “New Year! New you!

    • Haha I wasn’t saying to not make goals. So many people try to get rid of addictions and big problems though and end up failing because there is a bigger issue at hand. So getting to the root of that issue is what will end in true success.

Leave a Reply

