If you want to be respected

What’s a girl got to do to get respect in this world? This is a question I ask myself occasionally. In a world where few people respect each other and where most things have become socially acceptable, that can seem near to impossible.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky (author of Crime and Punishment) expressed:

“If you want to be respected by others the great thing is to respect yourself.  Only by that, only by self-respect will you compel others to respect you.”

Which is exactly what I have found to be true. But honestly, how many people respect themselves? Very few, from what I have seen. It’s sad to watch people allow themselves to be treated with disrespect. To hear that they honestly believe they’re not worth much and so, they’ll take whatever treatment they get, so long as they feel accepted and loved.  emma

I’ve never been a huge Harry Potter fan, but I respect this girl. Why? Because she demands respect. She doesn’t follow the social norm of dressing like a slut and acting like a brat. She takes a stand on respecting herself, therefore making others respect her.

I lacked greatly in self-respect until about 5 months ago. I’m sure I still lack somewhat, but, honestly, realizing who you are in Christ is the key. I found that in Him I am worth it. I’m not someone who should be walked all over, used, and treated with no respect. I’m a child of the Most High, the beloved of Christ. I used to care so much about what everyone thought of me, but I can never please everyone, I need only focus on pleasing my Lord. Once that went through my system and hit my heart, things changed drastically.

Who cares if self-respect isn’t “in style”, it’s a timeless beauty that everyone should possess.

4 thoughts on “If you want to be respected

  1. Well, ‘sexy’ is nice, but it’s between you and your husband.

    Speaking as a 22 year old guy, I don’t want to look at anyone besides my girl, and it annoys me when girls decide they want to put themselves on display. Respect is about the standards you hold yourself to – and that also applies to the guy you choose to be with. I can freely condemn most of my sex as immature boys in men’s shoes. They have no concept of the value of a good woman (http://wp.me/P1AMrn-4s). While you ladies rise above the message of wearing sex appeal on your sleeve, remember that it’s all for nothing if you can’t find a like minded Man to support your conviction.

Leave a Reply

