Denomination Wars

church

I was raised Southern Baptist, and I grew up in my grandfather’s church until a few years ago. But, I don’t consider myself a Southern Baptist. I’m a follower of Christ. I’m not any denomination.

I have an issue with denominations. I feel they separate the body of Christ and cause bitterness.

I’ve visited several churches in an attempt to find one that is a good fit for me. With most of the churches I’ve been to though, I kept hearing slams against other churches! This has never made sense to me. Why are we waging war against fellow believers? No, we may not all believe 100% the same thing, but does that mean we have the right to throw them under the bus? Of course not.

It’s placed a deep sadness in my heart to stand back and watch as this happens. Why are we not encouraging one another, instead of separating ourselves? None of us believe the exact same thing anyways. I’m not saying that I prefer going to non-denominational churches. I honestly don’t really care, so long as I have the same beliefs as them. My point is that I disagree with the hypocrisy and judgement going on. Many Christians preach acceptance and love. They go around talking about grace and showing that to people. Yet, few show true acceptance, love, and grace to other believers. Especially if they believe anything even slightly different.

Maybe someday it will end. Maybe, people will know that love and grace doesn’t just pertain to the non-believer, but the fellow believer as well.  Maybe someday, believers will realize that we’re all in this together, and stop going against one another.

Leave a Reply

