What is this illusion called?

…The innocence of youth. Maybe only in that blind belief can we ever find the truth. “

sprinkler

Thanksgiving is behind us and Christmas is on the way. Refrain from fainting. I know, panic is screaming for your attention and stress demands consideration. But just think, now that Thanksgiving is over, we only have one major holiday left until the new year! 🙂 (attempts to keep spirit up and stress down haha)

I’ve been listening to a lot Christmas music because, well, I’m a Christmas music fanatic, and I’ve been listening to it since May or June ;). I was listening to Michael Buble’s version of Grown Up Christmas List, and the line ‘What is this illusion called? The innocence of youth. Maybe only in that blind belief can we ever find the truth.’ really caught my attention. I feel like, as adults, we lose so much as we grow up. We gain a lot, for sure, but we lose the innocence and the ignorance. Children have such a simplistic view of life. Adults see life in much too realistic of a gaze. They become blind to the simple beauties all around them. To imagination and wonder.

He who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe is as good as dead; his eyes are closed.  ~Albert Einstein

I look around and see so many people become ‘adults’. I’m not saying this is necessarily bad. It’s not. Each person’s life is so different. But for me, personally, I hope to never fully become an ‘adult’. I hope that I am always well aware of my inner child, and occasionally, give in to it.

 

Happy is he who still loves something he loved in the nursery:  He has not been broken in two by time; he is not two men, but one, and he has saved not only his soul but his life. 

~G.K. Chesterton

Most of us have an inner child. Some are more aware of it than others. I love when people grow up, but can still be children when the time requires. It’s the small things. Walking on a ledge, smelling the flowers, running through sprinklers, etc. 🙂

Every child is an artist.  The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up. 

~Pablo Picasso

Leave a Reply

