Embrace of all embraces

heartbook

Generally, people seem to take a lot for granted. I know I certainly do. Recently, through a friend, the Lord reminded me that I keep taking the most important thing for granted. Him.

When I’m down or annoyed with myself, or my self-esteem is blazing with doubt, I know automatically to look at Jesus and see myself through His eyes. Automatically, my mind tells me ‘He thinks I’m beautiful. He created me in His image. Etc, etc, etc.’ But lately, He’s been showing me that I’m missing the mark. Yes, I know all those things in my mind. I know all the ‘right’ answers. But do I really know it? Like, really know it?

Heart knowledge is so completely different than head knowledge, I’ve been learning. I was brought up in church. I always knew the answers in Sunday school and the right thing to say. But I really didn’t know much of anything. A person, I believe, doesn’t really know the “right answers” until they’ve experienced God.

I’ve been taking Him for granted. And because of that, I keep missing out on experiencing Him.

He hugs us each and every day of our lives. No, it may not be in the showy, grand, explosive way we’re expecting/desiring. But, from what I’ve seen, it’s perfect. Simple. Overwhelming. Breathtaking. So perfect.

I used to be an avid reader. I don’t have as much time to read anymore, but Louisa May Alcott has always been one of my favorite authors. A few years ago, I was in a book store and exploring the section where her books are. I found one I didn’t own, but, me being a cheapo, decided $7 was too much ;P. I went back a week later to see it on clearance for $3. Again, I decided it wasn’t worth it. The next week, I wandered once again to the clearance section. Amazingly, it was still there. Even more amazingly, it was only $1. My heart screamed. You know that moment when you feel overwhelmed with feeling loved and cherished? You look around to see if anyone notices the dorky grin spread across your face? Yeah. That was me haha.

Over a book, you might say? Yes. Immediately, I knew that was a God hug. Him whispering ‘I love you, my darling. I just wanted to remind you today.’ He knows our desires and our hearts better than anyone. He knows what makes me smile and laugh. He know exactly how to make me feel like the most special and adored girl on earth.

He gives hugs and reminds us of His love everyday. It’s so easy to take it for granted though and ignore. Being a receiver can be easier said than done. Receiving such love and such passion for ourselves is overwhelming. At least for me it is.

I’ve been trying to recognize and accept His hugs. To not take for granted the kind word of someone. The encouragement of a stranger. The book on sale. To remember that I am His beloved and He’s loving on me every moment of everyday.

So next time someone compliments you, or something random makes you smile, etc., try to remember…….He’s embracing you in His love.

Leave a Reply

